Circular Keys Chorus Incorporated

Annual General Meeting

Minutes

Wednesday, 25th April 2018

Opening

The Annual General Meeting of Circular Keys Chorus was called to order at 7:50 pm on Wednesday, 25th April 2018 at St Josephs Centre, 64 MacKillop Drive, Baulkham Hills NSW by Diane Jenkins.

Diane sought approval from the meeting to chair the AGM and this was given.

Present

A list of members present is attached.

Apologies were received from: [insert list from Jen]

Approval of minutes

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting were circulated via the website prior to the meeting.

Motion: That the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, 29th March 2017 be approved.

Moved Alison Anderson, seconded Cheryl Wolfenden, carried unanimously.

Matters arising from the minutes

There were no matters arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

Management Committee Reports

The following Management Committee reports were circulated via the website prior to the meeting:

- Team Coordinator
- Music Director
- Membership
- Public Relations & Performance
- Fundraising
- Finance

Motion: That the financial report for 2017 be accepted.

Moved Deborah Martin, seconded Jenny Do Rosario, carried unanimously.

Election of 2018-2019 Management Committee

All Committee positions were declared vacant.

The Chair announced that no absentee votes had been received prior to the meeting.

The Nominating Committee canvassed nominations prior to the meeting and presented one candidate for each position. Nominations were invited from members at the meeting and there were no other nominations. This being so, the following Management Committee members were elected unopposed:

- Team Coordinator Diane Jenkins
- Secretary Sue Gray
- Membership Chair Jen Senior
- Public Relations Kate Hawkins
- Performance Coordinator Madee Di Vito.

Deborah Martin was nominated for the position of Finance Manager. As she has served more than 5 consecutive terms as an elected member of the Management Team and is therefore not eligible to stand for an elected position according to the Constitution, members were asked to approve this condition being waived. Approval was given.

• Finance Manager – Deborah Martin.

Liz Perry-Windhorst asked about the Fundraising Chair. Diane explained that this was not an elected position, although the new Management Committee could appoint the Fundraising Chair as one of the three appointed members subsequently.

Alison Anderson proposed a vote of thanks to Diane Jenkins and Vicki Dwyer for their leadership and this was carried by applause.

Diane Jenkins thanked Betty Fuller for her work as Secretary and Kate Hawkins for performing the dual role of Public Relations and Performance Coordinator. She welcomed Sue Grey as Secretary and Madee Di Vito as Performance Coordinator.

The old Management Committee will hand over to the new Management Committee at their next meeting on Thursday, 7th June.

Other Business

There was no other business.

Rules for Incorporation

The new Rules for Incorporation were distributed via the website prior to the meeting.

Diane explained that the new Rules for Incorporation were developed by Sweet Adelines Australia so that every chorus in Australia could operate under the same rules, and the rules would comply with legislation regarding incorporated associations in each State.

The main differences are:

- 1. Financial year will be 1 January to 31 December CKC has already implemented this change.
- 2. Sweet Adelines choruses in Australia can terminate membership of the chorus (which is a requirement for incorporated associations) if notification is given to Sweet Adelines International for the reason and the process.

Discussion followed about the circumstances and process for terminating membership, and whether there was an appeals process.

Motion: That the new Rules for Incorporation be adopted to replace the previous Constitution. Moved Diane Jenkins, seconded Deborah Martin, carried unanimously.

Adjournment

The Annual General Meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pm by Diane Jenkins.

The next Annual General Meeting will be at a time and date to be announced.

Minutes submitted by: Deborah Martin

Approved by:



Name

Dwyer, Vicki present Jenkins, Diane present Martin, Deborah present Anderson, Pippa present Baeza, Miryam present Barlow, Lorraine present Benson, Cheryl present Bourne, Judith absent Do Rozario, Jenny present Fuller, Betty absent Harris, Anne present Hawkins, Kate present Howells, Lyn present Kamenyitzky, Inese present Keating, Ann present Kelly, Susan present Kendall, Kaye present Mantova, Verne absent McPhee, Jenny present Moessis, Rachael absent Morris, Barb absent Perry-Windhorst, Liz present Pinto, Rina absent Tucker, Karen present Wallbank, Stephanie absent Ward, Doris present Wickremasinghe, Yasanthi absent Will, Heather present Anderson, Alison present Matsuda, Kumi absent Dwyer, Kaitlyn absent Witt, Marea present Wolfenden, Cheryl present Sullivan, Sharon present Totaro, Karen absent Owen, Violeta present Proctor, Debbie absent Lao, Lissa present Senior, Jen present Gray, Sue present Vitali-Alchin, Linda present Helaratne, Jesusa absent Russell, Lesley present Di Vito, Madee present Lutz, Carol present Priestley, Maria present

Davis, Alison absent Foulke, Jessica absent Groeschel, Daniela present Kumar, Jennifer present Prasad, Kamini absent Williams, Joy absent Edwards, Emma present Bartley, Cathleen absent Ware, Kathleen present